Categories of Bugs

This assumes a mature XP process is underway (this is almost 20 years old, so should not be a surprise to anyone).

If you are actively developing software there are only a limited category of bugs:

  • The critical – stop development and fix
  • The important – to be picked up as the next highest priority item
  • Prioritised alongside other upcoming work items.
  • Do not fix – record as unimportant

These days there should be no reason to keep an extensive bug backlog.

A bug is effectively a missing test (unit, integration or end-to-end).

With a sufficient test suit the QA should be getting bored. Hopefully they are spending the time working on acceptance criteria and acceptance tests for upcoming work.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s